Coping strategies

Taking care

Like losing weight, it is important that you tackle taking care of yourself gradually, so as to form habits that will last. Following a diet or making huge changes to your eating and exercise plans might mean that in a short while you will give up. When I started losing weight I made little changes at a time until they were part of my routine. This way I ended up making a lifestyle change that lasted and today I look back on a much healthier way of living.

Now I stand at the beginning of another lifestyle change: being a 21st century human, I don’t take care of myself as well as I maybe should. To be honest right now I wake up tired, have a headache almost 90% of the time, skip meals when work gets in the way, work way too many hours and I can keep adding to the list until the cows come home. So I’m going to put my money where my mouth is. I’m going to start with small changes until they are part of my thought process and decision making patterns.

How can I start small? Well, I know I respond well to touch, soft words, love and care. So I decided to start by washing my face every night (not just make-up wiping it with wet cloths) in warm water and always following my baths with a lotion massage. This will be my small change. Once I got this down I’ll post again to say what my next change will be. I feel strangely excited about all of it. For the first time in 35 years I’m going to give my body the rest and love it deserves. It’s going to change my world!

If you wake up tired and feel like you are on auto-pilot most of the time, what about making changes in your routine to remedy that? Don’t be content with just surviving. It doesn’t take a month-long holiday in the Amazon or a full spa-day to fix things. Both are expensive and the spa-day fix is temporary. Make a lasting change one step at a time to give yourself the rest you need. And remember to share your ideas. Yours might be the one idea that helps someone else get out of their rut.

Standard

Leave a comment